Thoughts on being a Full-time Stay at Home Mom

I have officially been a fulltime stay at home mom for one year now.  This is the place I’ve wanted to be my entire life and in some ways it is exactly as I imagined.  In others it’s worlds different.

I thought being a stay at home mom looked like this- Baby happily playing while I made dinner and cleaned up the house.  We’d play together and everything would be spotless and organized (I mean I am home all day right?).  The reality is anything but!  My days are long.  Well over 12 hours and my house is a mess during that time.  With I tiny tornado running around undoing all the cleaning, it’s hard to keep up when he is awake.  When I want to cook something it’s now, how many ways can I entertain the toddler with kitchen utensils so he’ll stop trying to spill the flour bucket… or throw a tissue in the milk I’m measuring out…. not that those things happened…this week Smile

 

I’m not a creative person by nature, but I have to create activities a hundred times a day!  That baby that would happily play on the floor while I worked, well he isn’t the one I was blessed with.  My sweet boy is in to everything and does not want to be left out!  As a result, my 17 month old helps chop vegetables and plays in the sink and washes the counters with a spray bottle.  Anything I can come up with to keep him busy!  He just wants to be involved in whatever I’m working on.

002

I truly love this stage in my life though.  I love being a mom and I love being home to take care of my son, my husband and my home.  It can be so difficult at times but I know the pay off will be worth it in the end!  We always said that we wanted one of us to be home to raise our kids.  I’m so thankful that I got to be that one!

002

3 thoughts on “Thoughts on being a Full-time Stay at Home Mom

  1. Isn’t it funny what we thought being a stay at home mom would be like? I had the same ideas as you, I realize now how naïve I was! :) I wouldn’t trade it for the world but there are days going back to work crosses my mind, but then I remember that the grass ALWAYS seems greener on the other side.

  2. When my children were young I was often asked, “Don’t you get bored staying at home and not working?” How I’d have loved the opportunity to grow bored from time to time, and as to “not working,” sometimes I’d (force myself to smile nicely and then) ask them what it was like to have scheduled breaks, paid vacation days, and nights and weekends off. :)

    My once-little ones are now 26, 22, and 18. I’m grateful I was able to invest my time in their early years.

Leave a Reply

